My Refuge

Many years ago, I was at a Women’s Retreat in Jacksonville, FL and at the close of a moving sermon by a well-known woman evangelist, she began putting the microphone in everyone’s face and asking, “What does Jesus mean to you?”  I remember sitting there hoping she did not put the microphone in my face and wondering what would I say if she did.  As I thought on this I realized I had no idea how to really answer that question.  I knew all of the bible stories, the message of salvation, the need for a Savior, etc. but I wasn’t sure I could answer the question of what Jesus meant to me? without sounding ‘clichest.’  And I really did want to know the answer.  I really did want to have a personal reason for what He meant to me.

This blog post would be book size if I were to fill in all that transpired between then and now but suffice it to say that I have learned what Yeshua means to me personally – He is MY refuge.

Whatever life throws at me from one day to the next, my Refuge never moves, never changes, never says no, and never closes His arms to me.  In fact, I am constantly aware of His very own Spirit pursuing me and wooing me every time I stray just a little.

How did He become my refuge?  Through life’s storms, He sheltered me and I got to know Him.

In Psalm 5: 4-6, David describes those evils G-d abhors and destroys.  And in verse 7, David does not claim to be better than those boastful men who do evil and which G-d abhors; however, He says, “BUT as for me…..”  David knew G-d and had discovered that G-d was His refuge for in verse 7 he goes on to say about those who take refuge in G-d Almighty:

…by Your abundant lovingkindness I will enter Your house, at Your Holy temple I will bow in reverence for You.

David did pretty much every ‘bad’ thing there was to do in this world but He chose to take refuge in Salvation’s arms.  He chose life (Deut 30:19).

Those who have taken refuge in the L-rd and have come to know Him, to believe that He came to die for him and to give life abundantly, will enter through His abundant lovingkindness.  His righteousness covering us, buries the person we used to be and clothes us in His humility and His own righteousness.

Deut 33:12 – Let the beloved of the L-rd rest secure in Him, for He shields him all day long…

Zech 9:15 – The L-rd of Hosts will defend them.

Col 3:3 – …your life is now hidden with Messiah in G-d

Psalm 32:7 – You are my hiding place.

Psalm 30:1 – You lifted me out of the depths and did not let my enemies gloat over me.

Isaiah 43:1 – Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

Psalm 5: 11-12

But let all who take refuge in You be glad, let them ever sing for you;

And may You shelter them, that those who love Your name may exult in You.

For it is You who blesses the righteous man, O L-rd,

You surround him with favor as with a shield.

Leave a Reply

