Freezer Strawberry Jam

I was shopping for party favors for a baby shower I was giving and wanted something that people would really enjoy, was very cost efficient, and would appeal to a variety of ages.  I decided to make Freezer Strawberry Jam and what a great decision it turned out to be.

I had not made freezer jam for several years so I was looking for the right containers to use.  I discovered that Ball makes plastic freezer jars and they were available in my local grocery store.  They cost about $3.49 for 3 (8 oz.) jars w/their respective lids.  Even with strawberries not on sale, I estimated the favors cost approx. $2 or $3 each jar.

The jam was super easy and quick to make and the pay off in flavor was off the charts.  The jam keeps in the refrigerator for three weeks but in the freezer can last up to one year.

I have pictures of the final product but did not take any photos of the process itself.  I plan on making some blackberry jam next time and will post pictures at that time.

I washed the jars and their lids in very hot water and then let them drip dry before using.

The strawberries are first cut into small chunks (I just sliced in half and removed the stem).  You then combine the Sure Jell with the requisite water and boil 1 minute.  Mash the berries with a potato masher or in the food processor and add the amount of sugar for the berries you are using.  A recipe/chart is provided in the box of Sure Jell.

Add the Sure Jell mixture from the stove, stir, and fill the jars.  I left about an inch head space.  Two packages of strawberries (16 0z each) yielded 12 (8 oz) jars.

I then set the jars in a muffin tin and slid the whole thing in the fridge to chill for a week before the shower.  I printed labels from the Ball webpage, filled in the date made, and instructions and glued to the tops of the lids.  They were a hit and my husband is enjoying the extra few jars I made just for him.

DSCN0652

Leave a Reply

