Thanksgiving Menus

I love the Thanksgiving holiday.  I love the idea of cooking up a storm in the day or days prior and having the whole family gathered around enjoying each other and all the food.  To me that is the ultimate in family gatherings.  Then I have the rest of the weekend to call up memories while I laze around eating leftovers without having to cook so I’ll be rested up to return to work on Monday.

I pretty much stick to the same menu every year but I spend a lot of time pouring over recipes, methods, tips and ideas from others.  I pour over blogs and magazines looking for a better way to season my turkey and improved methods for time management.  The time and anticipation I spend doing these things can be likened to the horse caged in the little area before the race, raring for the gate to be opened so he can be off doing what he was trained to do.  I just want to get started already.

This year, the first day of Chanukah coincides with Thanksgiving Day.  We have a Chanukah party every year and draw names but keep it a secret as to who we have.  We set a limit on what to spend and draw our names during Sukkot.  So since Thanksgiving is on the 1st day of Chanukah and everyone will be together anyway, we are combining the two.  We will start our Chanukah “party” portion of the day around dessert.  We are primarily keeping with the Thanksgiving dishes except for having Fried Pies as one of our desserts.  There will be 7 more days to enjoy latkes and sufganiyot after all.

My menu Thanksgiving 2013 is:

Appetizers:

Hot Spicy Artichoke Dip w/Pita Chips and Assorted Crudites
Spicy Roasted Nuts
Cheese Turkey Balls (made by the kids)

Roast Turkey & Smoked Turkey
Mashed Potatoes
Sweet Potato Casserole
Scalloped Peas & Onions
Herb Stuffing
Sweet Baby Corn
Green Bean Casserole
Homemade Cranberry Sauce
15 Minute Biscuit Rolls

Pumpkin Pie
Handheld Caramel Pecan Pies
Fried Fruit Pies
Chocolate Tart w/Rum Glaze

Beverages

Egg Nog – Virgin and Hi-Test
Assorted Mixers
Grape Juice
Coffee

Let the feast begin!

One thought on “Thanksgiving Menus

Leave a Reply

