Designing a Sabbath Tablecloth

designlayoutfabrics

So one of my daughters wants a Sabbath tablecloth.  Her birthday is coming up and I know she did not get one for Chanukah so I am going to make one.  I had spotted some Jewish themed fabric at Joanns several weeks ago and have been waiting for it to go on sale.  It was originally $15 per yard and that is a little pricey for a tablelcoth considering how much fabric I would need to buy.

Well good news – it did go on sale for 50% off but bad news – there was only about 1 yard left on the bolt.  I got upset at first and started fussing at myself but realized quickly that wasn’t helping the situation.  I decided to buy the scant yard that I wanted and find some coordinating fabric to add to it.

The piece I bought was basically an overall design of six-pointed stars with shades of blue and gold.  For some reason, it gave off a hue of lavender even though there is no lavender in the color scheme.  I chose a fairly dark mottled blue with gold dust scattered throughout the fabric.  it coordinated beautifully with my print.

So as I sat at my design table trying to decide how to lay out the fabric for cutting, I decided to get a little bit fancy instead of just stitching the pieces to the size I needed for a 52 inch square table.

I sketched out the diagram as you can see in the accompanying image.  I have a 10 X 20 inch piece of Marcella in white that I am embroidering with Shalom and two stars of David on either side.  The word Shalom will be done twice each facing opposite each other so no matter which side of the table you are on, you will be able to read it.  I am using size 8 DMC pearl cotton in a beautiful sky blue for the letters and I’m using a gold shade of the pearl to add some accents inside the bubble type letters.  The stars are bubbled also and I am adding some curly q’s in gold inside the stars and will accent with some seed beads.  Not too many seed beads because they get in the way when you want to set something on top of the table.

Once I had the centered motif sized and cut out, I then used simple geometry and measured out how many pieces of coordinating fabrics to surround the design. 

Leave a Reply

